The Chacko and Lize Simon Scholarship Fund (B.C.)

Board of Directors

    Dr. P. Chacko Simon,  the founder, and President of the Fund is a retired research microbiologist, teacher,
    philosopher, and philanthropist He personally oversees administration of the scholarship. In 2012, he was
    awarded the Queens Diamond Jubilee Medal for his contribution to Canada and the International Community.

    Mrs. Lize Simon,  worked as a Real Estate Agent and has served on the Board of Directors since 1972.  When
    the Hatfield Society operated a half-way house for prison parolees, she was the Society's Public Relations
    Officer. Her duties included visiting the prisons to select residents for Hatfield House.

    Mr. Ted Hawthorne is a humanitarian, philanthropist,  lawyer and senior partner in the firm  of Hawthorne,  
    Piggott, and Company. Instrumental in founding the Hatfield Society and the Chacko and Lize Simon
    Scholarship Funds, he has served on the Board of Directors since 1972.

    He is Honorary Colonel in the Duke of Connaught Regiment and a recipient of the Queen's Diamond Jubilee
    medal for his many services to his Regiment, the community, and Canada.

    Ms. Margaret Harris is retired from the Canada Department of Agriculture Animal Pathology Laboratory  
    where she worked in diagnosis and research and was the laboratory technical supervisor. She has served on
    the Board  since 1980 and currently administers the scholarship.

    Mrs. Gayle Hawthorne is retired after working 30 years as Office Manager for a mid-sized law firm. She has
    served on the Board since 2009 and also serves as Vice President of the British Columbia Regiment

For their  generous commitment to charitable works and volunteer service to the community, our Directors were each awarded the Queen's
Golden Jubilee Commemorative Medal.
The Chacko and
Lize Simon
Application Form